Iestyn Davies and Elizabeth Kenny perform together on BBC Radio 3 today ahead of online York Early Music Festival pairing

York countertenor Iestyn Davies: Two concerts with Elizabeth Kenny, one today on BBC Radio 3, the second at York Early Music Festival on July 9

IF you can’t wait for York countertenor Iestyn Davies’s July 9 concert with lutenist Elizabeth Kenny at the online 2020 York Early Music Festival, tune into BBC Radio 3 today.

At 1pm, Davies and Kenny will be introduced by Martin Handley live at London’s Wigmore Hall, where they will perform works by Purcell, Dowland, Campion, Johnson, Mozart and Schubert.

In York next month, Davies and Kenny, a former artistic adviser to the York Early Music Festival, will team up at a socially distanced, otherwise empty National Centre for Early Music for The Art Of Melancholy.

Streamed live from the former St Margaret’s Church, Walmgate, their 7.30pm programme will combine the music of Elizabethan lutenist John Dowland with Davies’s renditions and readings of poetry by Robert Burton, Michael Drayton, Rose Tremain, Leo Tolstoy and Dowland himself.

Tickets for the July 9 to 11 festival are on sale at and, with a festival package at £30, individual concert tickets at £10 each and illustrated talks at £3.50 each.

Back to today’s live Lunchtime Concert, one of a series of 20 recitals being broadcast from Wigmore Hall every weekday in June as part of BBC Arts’ Culture in Quarantine initiative.

Lutenist Elizabeth Kenny

Taking place without an audience present, these are the first live concert broadcasts on BBC Radio 3 since the start of lockdown, bringing together “some of the UK’s finest instrumentalists and singers in music from the 16th century to the present day”.

Today’s hour-long programme comprises:

Purcell: Strike The Viol from Come, Ye Sons Of Art Away;
Purcell: By Beauteous Softness from Now Does The Glorious Day Appear;
Purcell: Lord, What Is Man?;
Purcell: Rigadoon (arranged by Elizabeth Kenny);
Purcell: Sefauchi’s Farewell (arr. Elizabeth Kenny);
Purcell: Lilbulero (arr. Elizabeth Kenny).

Dowland: Behold A Wonder Here Opus;
Campion: The Sypres Curten Of The Night Is Spread;
Johnson: Fantasie;
Dowland: Sorrow, Stay, Lend True Repentant Tears;
Dowland: King Of Denmark’s Galliard;
Campion: I Care Not For These Ladies;
Anon: Mr Confess’ Coranto.

Mozart: Abendempfindung;
Schubert: Heidenröslein;
Schubert: Litanei Auf Das Fest Aller Seelen.