Who are the new additions to the Deer Shed 11 festival this summer?

Cate le Bon: Deer Shed 11 this way

DEER Shed Festival’s second wave of acts for July 24 to 26 at Baldersby Park, Topcliffe, near Thirsk, is confirmed today.

Ghostpoet, Cate Le Bon, Tim Burgess and Warmduscher are among more than 30 new additions, complementing a bill that already features Stereolab and Baxter Dury among its headliners.

Two-time Mercury nominee Ghostpoet will join headliners Stereolab on the Friday Main Stage line-up, while Welsh avant-pop singer-songwriter Cate Le Bon will play before Deer Shed’s yet-to-be-revealed Saturday night Main Stage headliner. 

Tim Burgess, frontman of Madchester icons The Charlatans, will headline In The Dock, Deer Shed’s second of four live music stages, on the Friday, followed by The Twilight Sad and Kate Tempest on the Saturday and Sunday respectively. 

Boy Azooga, Dream Wife and Jesca Hoop are all artists familiar with performing at Baldersby Park, 100 acres of North Yorkshire parkland, woodland, lakes and rivers that Deer Shed calls home. Boy Azooga will be on the Main Stage on the Sunday, Dream Wife have been elevated to In The Dock headliners on the Friday and Jesca Hoop will join Roddy Woomble as a Lodge stage headliner on the Saturday. 

Warmduscher will play at Deer Shed on the Saturday, bringing their industrial post-punk sounds to the Main Stage after Tainted Lunch was named among BBC 6 Music’s 2019 Albums of the Year. 

As is Deer Shed tradition, Yorkshire and North East acts will be well represented: step forward Hull punks LIFE; Leeds indie bands Marsicans and Ruthie; Sheffield nerd disco trio International Teachers Of Pop; North York Moors alt rock band Avalanche Party; Leeds folk singers Serious Sam Barrett and Gary Stewart and north easterners Mt. Misery, Tom Joshua and Beccy Owen. 

A wealth of folk-influenced artists have been added too, among them Erland Cooper, Admiral Fallow; I See Rivers; Kitt Philipa; Rachael Dadd; Eve Owen; Irish Mythen; Conchúr White and The Magpies. 

The alternative rock contingent is bolstered by the additions of hotly tipped bands W.H. Lung, Do Nothing, Egyptian Blue, Kate Davis and Friedberg. 

Irish folk duo Morrissey & Marshall will present their Dublin Calling radio show live from Balderbsy Park, featuring live performances by Steo Wall, Brigid Mae Power and Padraig Jack. 

Harrogate Big Beat producer Rory Hoy and Newcastle producer Meg Ward will be Deer Shed’s first DJs, spinning tunes back to back at the Friday late-night silent disco, while Happy Mondays’ Bez will take to the decks and dancefloor for Sunday’s closing party. 

The festival team still has a handful of high-profile names left to reveal, but cards will be kept close to the chest for the time being. 

Festival director Oliver Jones says: “There has yet to be a year at Deer Shed where we haven’t significantly expanded the music offering. The day may eventually come where we decide we have enough amazing bands, but that year certainly isn’t 2020. 

“Ghostpoet, Cate Le Bon, Tim Burgess and Warmduscher, joining headliners Stereolab and Baxter Dury, plus a mass of artists ready to break the big time in 2020, are all ensuring the music line-up is once again brimming with world-class talent, and we still have an ace up our sleeve for the Saturday headline slot.” 

The second tier of tickets for Deer Shed’s 11th summer festival are expected to sell out at midnight on Friday, January 31. Tier 3 tickets will be available from Saturday at an increase of £10 per adult ticket. For tickets and more information, go to deershedfestival.com.

Full list of artists confirmed for Deer Shed Festival 11 (additions in bold):

Stereolab (headline); Baxter Dury (headline); Ghostpoet, Cate Le Bon; Kate Tempest (Telling Poems); Tim Burgess; The Twilight Sad; Sinkane; Warmduscher; Boy Azooga; Dream Wife; Roddy Woomble; Jesca Hoop; Snapped Ankles; Melt Yourself Down; Liz Lawrence; LIFE; Marsicans; Erland Cooper; Dry Cleaning.

Admiral Fallow; W.H. Lung; Ren Harvieu; International Teachers of Pop; Avalanche Party; I See Rivers; Kitt Philippa; Rachael Dadd; Native Harrow; Kate Davis; Big Joanie; Do Nothing; Egyptian Blue; Rina Mushonga; Friedberg; Heidi Talbot & Boo Hewerdine; Ruthie; Serious Sam Barrett; Eve Owen.

Irish Mythen; Tom Joshua; Brigid Mae Power; Conchúr White; Gary Stewart; Beccy Owen; Mt. Misery; Morrissey & Marshall present Dublin Calling; Steo Wall; The Magpies; Padraig Jack; Bez (DJ); Rory Hoy (DJ); Meg Ward (DJ)